frei sein

CIMG2661

“Take me to church”. The echo of the song has long gone when I take the black coat and leave my flat on that afternoon. They said it would be rainy but the sky is divided into blue and white, some smaller clouds with azur-blue. A bit like the greek flag, I think, looking up to the sky. Greece, and memories return. It would be kitsch to write them down, I think, but I want to re-imagine them. My steps lead me towards them. Towards the city’s old harbour, the long distanced’ sea and… In Greece, I could take the silence but here, I can’t… and walk further up the beach. A baseball-cap, there, to be seen on the beach’s yellow sand. The baseball-cap of a teenager – teenagers who hate idyllic places like this. I open my eyes and Greece is gone. Back to black and white, a raindrop on my forehead, running down. “Take me to church”.

***

Der Hafen zieht mich an. Seine Mischung aus Verdorbenheit und Schmutz, ganz anders als idyllischen Griechenland. Eigentlich darf ich überhaupt nicht hier sein, Sperrbezirk. Da fällt mir eine Baseball-Kappe am Boden auf. In Krimis würde jetzt ein Schuss ertönen, irgendein schwarzer Mantel blutgetränkt sein. Das Lied auf meinem I-Pod wechselt. “Take me to church”.

***
For those speaking English and German: These two texts are completely different. I took the following words and just starting writing – “Take me to church” (song title)/ Greece/ black coat/ harbour/ baseball-cap

CIMG2652

This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to frei sein

Leave a Reply

