Throwback Week

Almost every f* day of this week, when I listen to the radio, check the news online or watch TV, I hear that, again, a potential Flüchtlingsheim – a place where refugees were supposed to be settled – has been set on fire. Reaction of the home secretary of the German state of Baden-Württemberg: “This is nothing we’d like to see here in Baden-Württemberg.” Oh well, apparently we two live in two different worlds: This is Germany, 2015. Where refugees aren’t welcomed. Where a lot people don’t hesite to spill out their sick ideas about the German race and its superiority towards others (and yes, on WordPress as well, you can find their sh*; I could mention some adresses in this context) everywhere. I’m sick of this, sick of the f* mentality of the German average person when it comes to something/someone new; something that doesn’t fit in their Kindergarten/Schrebergarten-idyllic scenery.

To some extent I can understand that people are afraid about what currently happens and what will happen; it’s not that German respectively European politicans have any (visible) clue on how to handle with the ten thousands of people now arriving in Europe. And yes, even I can’t stop having stereotypes in my mind when I see a Sinti and Roma family sitting on Mannheim Hauptbahnhof, with their children literally playing with dirt in the dirt.

BUT who is so damm stupid to repeat the old cliché that foreigners “walk from house to house and take our children away” or “that they rape our (blond) women”? And then be so blinded/misguided to throw molotow-cocktails to set houses (doesn’t really matter of people are inside) on fire?

Well, this is Germany. It doesn’t matter if those coming to this country have Germanic roots (remember the refugees after World War Two from East Prussia; they were treated like s* by some of the “real” Germans) or not – “we” Germans will be better anyway. And we know everything better (see the current discussions on Greece and their finances).

I’m sick of the anyomous crowd who shuts up to reality and prefers to write WhatsApp-messages via smartphone. So spare me any likes on this text – open your mouth and silence those f*

(I don’t believe anyway that they’ll have any chance with the Endsieg – if real German blondes are to stupid to count 1+1; could be bad when it comes to organize the supply with Panzers)…

***

Every generation has its memories. Born in 1985 and raised up in a village/small town in Southern Germany, I can tell you
– what was on TV when Yitzak Rabin was assassinated (THE German show of the 1990ies; Wetten Dass)
– how I heard that Lady Di had died (Sunday evening in the Tagesschau; my parents had known it all day but hadn’t told me)
– when I heard about 9/11 (no radio was on this afternoon in our household, quite strange, so it was later on TV)
– and so on.

I don’t know remember exactly when I saw the pictures of the Brandanschlag in Rostock-Lichtenhagen (maybe it was in the children-TV-news-programme LOGO; I was 7 years old back then) – but I do remember the pictures: People inside a building that was on fire; people on the street throwing molotow-cocktails; people on the street who watch what happens.

I don’t remember when I have first heard the word Holocaust. I remember watching Victor Klemperers Tagebücher when I was 14 years old. Mathias Habich playing the Jewish author who is slowly stolen his life in German society.

I don’t exactly recall the last German football-match when I cheered for the German male team. I remember how German “football fans” almost kicked French police man Daniel Nivel to death during the World Cup in France in 1998. And how a couple of days later, the German football team lost 0:3 against Croatia. (not to memtion that the German team was cheated by the referee; how could Croatia play any better?)

I spare you the part of Germany and the Holocaust. I’m someone who wants the Erinnerungskultur to be vivid, however I can understand if some people have enough of hearing what happened about 70 years ago. Still, I believe that we Germans have – and not only of what happened in the name of German race – the duty of speaking out against any form of political cruelty and racial discrimation. And for this, we must be able to accept that not only the others, but also “we” can be the Täter. It can always happen. And it happens right now. On German soil.

***
I don’t expect anyone to react to these two texts. They sum up how I felt the last days – somebetween anger and resignation.

This entry was posted in History rewritten and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.