I still wait him to have coffee with me.

The town I live in –
it starts with an “A”.
But there’s no beginning.
I still wait him to have coffee with me.

Some people in the Western
World have an atlas with a map of
Aleppo from 1996. With Jewish and Christian
quarters drawn in. In my Aleppo,
quartiers have become
non-existent.
I still wait him to have coffee with me.

On the news, I hear about Western
politicians and their talks about
Ukraine; Putin, Merkel, Hollande.
“U” must be in line before “A” in the ABC.
I still wait him to have coffee with me.

I can only dance
to the sound
of sirens and bombs.
I still wait him to have coffee with me.

On Tuesday, I called my friend
to have coffee with me.
On Wednesday, he
died.
I still wait him to have coffee with me.

This entry was posted in Non-Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.